Unfortunately, North Carolina law tends to be rather vague when determining what constitutes reckless driving. Under North Carolina law, reckless driving could be defined as any driving activity that shows “willful or wanton disregard” for the safety of others or moving at a speed that could potentially endanger others could equate to reckless driving. A reckless driving charge could result in factors such as drag racing, running a stop sign or red light, failing to yield, speeding, and tailgating another vehicle. There are, of course, other factors that could contribute to a person being charged with reckless driving. It’s often up to the law enforcement officer’s discretion when determining whether a ticket should escalate to a reckless driving charge, leading to more severe consequences as well.
Reckless driving is considered to be a class 2 misdemeanor. This conviction could result in a fine of up to $1,000 as well as spending up to 60 days in jail. Having a reckless driving charge could also result in having four points added to your driver’s license, increasing your insurance premium.
The penalties and consequences associated with a reckless driving charge can add up quickly depending on various factors, add in property damage, seriously injuring someone else during the incident, and the results can be devastating.